Mom

Now that I’m resuming work on my blog, I want to make a post celebrating my mother to match the one dedicated to my father that I posted just before my hiatus from blogging. I missed honoring her on Mother’s Day since I was still recuperating from serious illness, & I’ve just missed her 98th birthday (7 August). Since this coming 21 October will mark 30 years since she died, 28 days after my father’s death on the preceding 23 September, & this coming 9 December would bave been their 75th wedding anniversary, I am doubly motivated to recall her now.

Doris Avalon Dahlgren, a 5’2″ powerhouse, lived from 1916 through 1984, played high school basketball, survived the Great Depression working such jobs as soda jerk (she attributed her muscles to the thousands of ice cream cones she scooped), studied at the Chicago Art Institute, taught at Jane Addams’ Hull House, met & married my father Stan Dahlgren, helped him build our ketch Thora, raised me & my brother, was active in the Fair Haven NJ school board, served as Cub Scout den mother during the years my brother & I were active in scouting, volunteered at the NJ State Hospital at Marlboro, substitute taught in the Red Bank NJ public schools, helped found the Old Mill Music Society, which held concerts in a 400-year-old Dutch river mill in Tinton Falls NJ, was politically active, & participated in numerous socially active organizations such as the Red Bank NJ Women’s Club.

20140810-105156.jpg

This composite photo shows mom at the helm of the Thora sitting next to my dad during a sail on Lake Michigan in 1943, her maiden year (Thora was launched a year before I was), two photos of mom, my father, & me taken on or around my first birthday, & one in the summer of 1967 on the bayside front porch of our house in Atlantic Highlands, our last family home.

Happy Birthday, Happy Mother’s Day, & the fondest of memories, mom.

2 thoughts on “Mom

Leave a Reply

