Down to the Sea

In mid-July 2013, about 1/2 year before my illness & accident, my brother invited me to his home in Connecticut. I would be there during my birthday, & most likely he & I would go for a sail on Thora.

20140810-214238.jpg

As you recall, Thora is the Tahiti ketch built by my parents, & launched a year before I was.

Since the deaths of my parents in Autumn 1984, my brother has kept & cared for Thora. On the other hand, I haven’t been on a sail in since then, so I was looking forward to the chance to spend some time aboard.

Sure enough, on the morning of 22 July we set out for the harbor & my brother rowed us from the dock to Thora’s mooring aboard Pinch Bottle II, the lapstraked sailing dinghy that he built a few years ago.

20140810-224129.jpg

We got the engine started, cast off the mooring lines, & headed out through the narrow harbor mouth into Long Island sound. We hove to long enough to hoist the sails, get under way, & kill the iron breeze. The pleasure of the relative silence of going under sail rather than power is extreme.

20140810-225424.jpg

We set a southerly course across Long Island Sound, heading from the Connecticut shore toward The north shore of Long Island.

20140810-225813.jpg

I recorded the trip on my Nikon camera, then edited it in iMovie on my iBook – the last project I completed. I posted it on my YouTube channel, but now am posting it here as well.

I hope you enjoyed the sail!

4 thoughts on “Down to the Sea

  1. I LOVE THIS POST! 🙂

    I’m so glad you were able to ride on the boat. I remember how excited you were to go on the trip and what a wonderful time you had while you were there.

    • Thanks! 🙂 Yes, it was a great time.

      My brother texted me last week from the middle of the Sound, setting off on another sail… I was so jealous! Maybe next year… 😉

      • Oh wow! I’m jealous too! LOL

        Well, it gives you something to look forward to doing. Just plan on next year and it will fly by so fast! I can’t believe it is already the middle of August. *sigh*

      • just imagine how wonderful it is watching the sun rise over the rim of the ocean while on the deck of a Tahiti ketch under sail! …one thing that’s even more wonderful, of course, is drifting to sleep in one of the bunks in the fo’c’sle, with your head near the inner planking, listening to the wavelets lapping against the hull as the boat gently rocks you dreamward…

        like how I wove your posts & mine together? 😛

Leave a Reply

